Skip to main content

Baltimore Symphony Series oral history collection

Identifier: OH BSS


  • 1977

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open for research use.

Conditions Governing Use

The reproduction of materials in this collection may be subject to copyright restrictions. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine and satisfy copyright clearances or other case restrictions when publishing or otherwise distributing materials found in the collections. For more information visit the MCHC’s Rights and Permissions page.


5 Items : 5 oral histories

Language of Materials


Scope and Contents

Maryland Historical Society volunteer Alfred Kolinsky conducted this series of interviews relating to the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, founded in 1916.

Interviewees include Sarah Feldman, first woman member of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Robert Preston Harriss, music critic from the Baltimore Sun and Baltimore News-American. Topics include: the origins and history of the Orchestra; the position of women in the orchestra; organization; productions; music critic Judge Charles Harris; Joseph Meyerhoff, President of the Symphony Orchestra for 18 years beginning in 1965.

Materials for the interviews include audio tapes, tape indexes, biographical forms, and newspaper clippings. There are no transcripts available at this time.

Guide to the Baltimore Symphony Series oral history collection
In Progress
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Revision Statements

  • 2020-07-10: Manually entered into ArchivesSpace by Emily Somach.

Repository Details

Part of the H. Furlong Baldwin Library Repository

H. Furlong Baldwin Library
Maryland Center for History and Culture
610 Park Avenue
Baltimore MD 21201 United States